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Chippewa County dog owners still in need of a dog license should make arrangements to 
purchase the license before February 29, 2012 in order to avoid a fee increase.  1Licenses 
can be purchased through the Chippewa County Finance office located in the Courthouse 
or the Chippewa County Animal Control Shelter located at 3660 S. Mackinac Trail.

State law requires that  all  dogs be licensed annually.   Individual dog licenses can be 
purchased at  a  cost  of $25.00 each,  or $10.00 for spayed and neutered dogs through 
Wednesday, February 29.  Those fees double to $50.00 and $20.00, on March 1.

Why you should license your dog?
 It’s the law.  Michigan law states that all dogs over 4 months of age must be licensed.  It 
shows that you care about your dog.  To purchase a dog license your dog must have a 
current rabies vaccination.  Rabies is a deadly disease caused by a virus that can infect all 
warm-blooded animals including humans.  The rabies virus is concentrated in the saliva 
of infected animals and can be spread when they bite or scratch.  If your dog or cat bites, 
provoked  or  unprovoked,  and  your  pet  does  not  have  a  current  rabies  vaccinations, 
Michigan law states that your animal must be quarantined at the shelter for ten (10) days 
to check for the onset of rabies.  It costs $15.00 per day to board an animal that is under 
quarantine.  That is $150.00.

To get your pet home safely
A list is kept at Central Dispatch, the Police Departments, as well as, the Animal Control 
Shelter and the Chippewa County Courthouse, with available access 24 hours a day 
through the Central Dispatch staff.  Michigan Dog Law 287.279: Dog pursuing, 
worrying, or wounding livestock or poultry; attacking persons; trespass; 
prohibition, states that it shall be unlawful for any person, other than a law enforcement 
officer, to kill or injure or attempt to kill or injure any dog which bears a license tag for 
the current year.

Contact the Chippewa County Administrator’s office for more details at (906) 635-6330.


