A REGULAR MEETING of the Board of Chippewa County Road Commissioners was held in their offices located at 3949 S. Mackinac Trail, Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan on February 12, 2015.

The meeting was called to order at 8:00 a.m. followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

PRESENT: Commissioner Timmer and Commissioner Ormsbee, Manager Laitinen, Office Mgr Decker, Clerk McDowell, Engineer Krouth, Surveyor Wiggins, Foreman Erickson, Foreman Pesola, Foreman McConkey and Union President Hopper.

ABSENT: Commissioner Gagnon, Chief Mechanic Avery and Project Manager Deatrick.

Chairman Timmer approved agenda as presented.

MOTION by Commissioner Ormsbee **SECONDED** by Commissioner Timmer that the Payroll in the amount of \$150,687.51 and Vouchers in the amount of \$983,149.21 be approved and authorized for payment from the County Road Fund subject to audit.

MOTION CARRIED

MOTION by Commissioner Ormsbee **SECONDED** by Commissioner Timmer to approve the minutes from the Regular Meeting held on January 29, 2015 and place them on file.

MOTION CARRIED

PUBLIC COMMENTS-None

STAFF REPORTS

Foreman Pesola

• Winging banks, equipment repair and general winter maintenance.

Foreman Erickson

• Winter maintenance and clearing brush on 13 Mile Road project.

Foreman McConkey

• Winter maintenance, pushing back corners and equipment maintenance.

Surveyor Wiggins

- Working on DEQ Permits
- Placing markers on 13 Mile Road project

Engineer Krouth

- Attended Engineer's Workshop last week.
- Project Mgr. Deatrick has introduced her to the Field Manager program.
- Update on Sugar Island Causeway project.

Office Manager Decker

• Working on completing year end and preparing for auditors.

Manager Laitinen invited Mr. Sean Ley from the Whitefish Point Shipwreck Museum to address the Board.

Mr. Sean Ley along with Bruce Lynn from the Whitefish Point Shipwreck Museum presented their request to submit an application for FLAP Grant funding for parking improvements at the museum. If approved all funds would need to be run through our accounting records based on the requirement that it pass through an ACT 51 Agency.

Manager Laitinen stated he didn't feel that applying for another FLAP Grant would in any why harm our chances of award for our project, resurfacing of Lakeshore Drive (Curley Lewis Hwy).

MOTION by Commissioner Ormsbee **SECONDED** by Commissioner Timmer to support the project for improvements to the parking area and have Great Lakes Shipwreck Society submit the application on our behalf.

MOTION CARRIED

COUNTY COMMISSIONERS' COMMENTS-None

MANAGERS REPORT

- Enjoyed his vacation.
- Working this week to prepare for his presentation at the CRAM Meeting next week. The session will be titled Fish, Bridges and Culverts. The session will hopefully identify alternative sources for funding for these types of projects.
- Extended his appreciation to our mechanics for the extra time they are putting in to keep our equipment running. Gave update from the shop.
- Presented thank you letters from Brimley School 2nd graders for the safety presentation. He also received a thank you from St. Mary's School for Engineer Krouth and his presentation at their Career Day.

Manager Laitinen presented a Quit Claim Deed from Mr. Richard B. Bicknell and Loretta Z. Bicknell, husband and wife which will transfer ownership for property between Whitefish Point Road and the property owners of Superior Subdivision #3 and would provide the property owners with legal insurable access to Whitefish Point Road. This property will be part of the right-of-way of Whitefish Point Road.

There will be an exchange of \$1.00 for the Acceptance of Conveyance which needs to be signed by the Road Commission.

MOTION by Commissioner Ormsbee **SECONDED** Timmer to authorize Manager Laitinen to sign the Acceptance of Conveyance for property on Whitefish Point Road.

MOTION CARRIED

PUBLIC COMMENTS-None

ROAD COMMISSIONERS COMMENTS

Commissioner Ormsbee and Chairman Timmer thanked crews for a great job.

There being no further business to come before the Board Chairman Timmer adjourned the meeting at 8:33 a.m.

Christine A. McDowell Secretary for the Board Richard B. Timmer Chairman